Times of Malta, 20 May 2008 – Triq Żekka took its name from the Order’s Old mint located at that street. The mint has a façade typical of the period. Of rarity are the four flag stone supports located at the upper part of the façade.
However, the interior is an architectural gem having ribbed cross vaults, decorated arches and panelled pilasters. It is also a building of great historic significance. Originally, the building served as the Auberge de France but in 1604 it was leased to the German Knights while repairs were carried out to their auberge. The building was later leased to the treasury of the Order for the mint (zecca in Italian), which was set up as one of the administrative buildings required for the efficient running of a city. This prompted a change in the street name to that which has been retained to date although the mint itself remained in this location up to 1788. The standard coin in Malta in the 18th century was the “zecchino”, of which over 200,000 were struck in this building between 1722 and 1727. The zecchino began to disappear from circulation after a local monetary crisis around 1758.
Mepa scheduled the Order’s Old Mint as a Grade 1 national monument as per Government Notice No. 276/08 in the Government Gazette dated March 28, 2008.